Let's say that again - four in 89 years. There has only ever been one female winner - Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker in 2010. There has been some sense of diversity in the best director category in recent years - albeit a slightly odd one. Basically, you're OK as long as you're a foreign-born man. No American-born directors have won since Bigelow. Image copyright Joe Lederer The Oscars still don't do superheroes There was a groundswell of support for Deadpool to become the first superhero movie to be nominated for best picture. It was nominated for Golden Globes and Producers Guild of

... Read more